From Beginner to Pro: My Development Journey in 2022

From Beginner to Pro: My Development Journey in 2022

·

2 min read

As I reflect on my journey as a developer in 2022, I am struck by the many challenges and triumphs I experienced over the course of the year. From working on exciting projects to learning new technologies and tools, the past year has been a rollercoaster of growth and learning. In this article, I want to share my experiences from 2022 and the lessons I have learned along the way. Through my struggles and successes, I hope to provide insight and inspiration for other developers on their journey.

As a beginner developer, I struggled with imposter syndrome. I didn't feel confident enough to call myself a programmer, and it was frustrating when I encountered bugs or didn't know what to do next. I tended to jump from project to project, and many of them were left incomplete. I felt isolated, too, because I didn't know anyone else who was learning to code. I even hesitated to apply for tech jobs because I didn't think I was good enough. But I didn't give up. I took a job as a waiter, and eventually, my job description changed to "storekeeper". It was there that I was able to use my coding skills in a real-world scenario. I used Python to handle inventory data and calculate when we were running low on products. It was a proud moment for me to see my skills being put to use.

I knew I needed to be part of a community, to build relationships with like-minded people, so when the opportunity arose, I left my job as a storekeeper and joined the ALX Africa Software Engineering Program. It was an exciting experience that changed the way I approached programming. I learned the right mindset and best practices, and I even learned my second programming language, C, which I had previously dreaded. Through team projects and peer learning days, I was able to build relationships with others in the tech community. It's been a challenging journey, but I'm proud of how far I've come.